Chichester District Council

COUNCIL: ANNUAL MEETING

17 May 2016

Appointments to External Organisations

1. Contacts

Diane Shepherd, Chief Executive

Tel: 01243 534511 Email: dshepherd@chichester.gov.uk

Katherine Jeram, Member Services Officer

Tel: 01243 534674 Email: kjeram@chichester.gov.uk

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the Council appoints Members to serve on outside organisations for 2016-2017 and longer term appointments/nominations as set out in the tables in the report.

3. Main Report

- 3.1 Most appointments to outside organisations are made by the Cabinet as the terms of reference for the Cabinet include the authority "to appoint or nominate persons to outside organisations which relate to functions of the Cabinet." However, the appointment of Members to other organisations not relating to the functions of the Cabinet is reserved to Full Council.
- 3.2 Set out below are details of the organisations and the number of representatives to be appointed.
- 3.3 Two changes are proposed:-
 - 1. The appointment to Chichester Conservation Area Advisory Committee should revert to just one member Mr Richard Plowman
 - 5. Mrs Plant should replace Mrs Dignum on West Sussex Health and Adult Social Care Committee (HASC)

Annual Appointments 2016-2017

| ORGANISATION | | APPOINTMENTS in 2015/16 | APPOINTMENTS from 2016/17 |
|--------------|---|--|------------------------------|
| 1. | Chichester Conservation Area Advisory Committee (1) | Les Hixson (C) Richard Plowman (LD) | Richard Plowman (LD) |
| 2. | Portsmouth Water Customer Forum (1) | Simon Oakley (C) | Simon Oakley (C) |
| 3. | Sussex Police and Crime Panel (1) | Eileen Lintill (C) | Eileen Lintill (C) |
| 4. | Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Trust Council of Governors (1) | Gillian Keegan (C) | Gillian Keegan (C) |
| 5. | West Sussex Health and Adult Social Care Committee (1) | Pam Dignum (C) | Penny Plant (C) |

Longer Term Appointments

| ORGANISATION | | APPOINTMENTS in 2015/16 | APPOINTMENTS from 2016/17 |
|--------------|--|---|---|
| 6. | Bourne Community College Governing Body (1) | Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive | (4 year appointment until 2017) |
| 7. | Bourne Trust Board (1) | Diane Shepherd – Chief Executive | (4 year appointment until 2017) |
| 8. | Chichester College Board of Governors (2) | Jane Dodsworth – Head of Business Improvement Steve Hansford – Head of Service Community | (4 year appointment until 2017) |
| 9. | Chichester Harbour Conservancy (2 plus deputy) | Graeme Barrett (C) John Connor (C) Penny Plant (<i>Deputy</i>) (C) | (3 year appointment 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2017) |
| 10. | South Downs National Park Authority (1) | Mark Dunn (C) | (appointment is for councillor's term of office, ie until May 2019) |
| 11. | West Sussex Pensions Panel (1) | No nomination | No nomination (3 year appointment until 2017) |

4. Background Papers None